Sandy Hawley Community Service Award

The Sandy Hawley Community Service Award is handed out each year to an individual who best exemplifies a dedication to the community. The award is named after one of the most successful jockeys in history.

In addition to being a two-time winner of the Lou Marsh Award, as Canada ’s Athlete of The Year, Sandy works tirelessly to make his community a better place.


Nav Bhatia

Nav Bhatia has been nicknamed the Raptors Superfan and is a Canadian businessman and superfan of the Toronto Raptors basketball team.

Steve Ludzik

Steve Ludzik had a distinguished junior career with the Ontario Hockey League’s Niagara Falls Flyers, amassing 125 goals and 233 assists, for a total of 358 points.

RBC Canadian Open – 2022 Sandy Hawley Award

The RBC Canadian Open is a professional golf tournament in Canada. It is co-organized by Golf Canada (formerly known as the Royal Canadian Golf Association) and the PGA Tour.

Western Ontario Athletic Association (WOAA) – 2019 Sandy Hawley Award

The Western Ontario Athletic Association boasts longevity and a rich history of community service. The W.O.A.A., a non-profit corporation, currently coordinates programs for 390 minor hockey teams, 5l women's hockey teams, 14 Senior hockey teams and 8 softball teams for a total of 463 teams.

Hazel McCallion – 2018 Sandy Hawley Award

Hazel McCallion, businesswoman, politician and mayor of Mississauga from 1978-2014. One of Canada's longest-serving mayors, McCallion led her city for 12 consecutive terms, only retiring at age 93. Nicknamed “Hurricane Hazel” for her brash political style, she oversaw the development of Mississauga from a semi-rural bedroom community into the sixth-largest

Trish Stratus – 2017 Sandy Hawley Award

Trish Stratus is a fitness icon, entrepreneur and actress. Recognized as one of WWE's all-time greats, Trish is a seven-time Women's Champion and was inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame in 2013.

Peter Gilgan – 2016 Sandy Hawley Award

Peter Gilgan, born and raised in Ontario, is a self-made business owner. As the Founder and CEO of Mattamy Homes, Mr. Gilgan is one of the country’s most successful entrepreneurs.

Zeke O’Connor – 2015 Sandy Hawley Award

William Francis "Zeke" O'Connor, Jr. (born May 2, 1926) is a retired American football end who played five seasons in the All-America Football Conference (AAFC) and Canadian Football League (CFL) in the late 1940s and early 1950s.

Michael Burgess – 2014 Sandy Hawley Award

Famed singer and actor Michael Burgess was the first individual to sing "O Canada" at the World Series, celebrating the Toronto Blue Jays' 1992 debut.

Dave Perkins – 2013 Sandy Hawley Award

Dave Perkins was born Midland, Ont, in 1953. Dave moved to Toronto 1958, so he actually well remembers both the baseball Maple Leafs and when the hockey Maple Leafs did things like win Stanley Cups. Dave attended Ryerson Journalism and began working at Globe and Mail in 1973.