Sandra Post

Sandra Post, CM (born June 4, 1948) the first Canadian to play on the LPGA Tour. Born in Oakville, Ontario, she turned professional in 1968 after a very successful amateur career that included winning the Ontario and Canadian Junior Girl’s Championship three times. In her debut season on the LPGA Tour, Post became the youngest to win an LPGA major tournament by capturing the LPGA Championship. Her victory over defending champion Kathy Whitworth also marked the first victory in the Championship by a non-U.S. player. For her performance on the professional circuit, Post was voted the Tour’s “Rookie of the Year.”
 Over her career, Post won eight LPGA events including back-to-back titles at the 1978 and 1979 Dinah Shore Open. For the 1979 season, she finished second on the LPGA money list and won the Lou Marsh Trophy as Canada’s “Athlete of the Year.” During her 16 years on the pro tour, Post also had 20 second-place tournament finishes including at the U.S. Women’s Open. In 1988, she was elected to the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame and the Royal Canadian Golf Association Hall of Fame and in 2003 she was honored by her country with membership in the Order of Canada. She was voted No.8 of the females chosen as Canada’s Athletes of the 20th Century.